Gender and development of a value chain based on genetic resources

News (News archive) | 09 июл. 2019

On July 4, 2019, in Dushanbe, as part of the UNDP / GEF project “Strengthening human resources, legal frameworks and institutional capacity for implementing the Nagoya Protocol” by the UNDP Country Office in Tajikistan in partnership with the National Biodiversity and Biosafety Center of the Environmental Protection Committee under the Government оf the Republic of Tajikistan, a workshop was held on the theme “Gender aspects and development of the value chain based on genetic resources in accordance with the Nagoya Protocol and the ABS principles”.

Representatives of ministries and departments, academic and scientific institutions, public and commercial organizations and other stakeholders, attended the workshop as well as an international consultant on the identification of the role of women in the development of the value chain based on genetic resources. For a broader understanding of the role of women in the conservation and sustainable use of genetic resources and associated traditional knowledge, a survey was initially conducted among all categories of stakeholders.

Welcoming speeches were made by Mr. Dustov D. from the National Biodiversity and Biosafety Center of the CEP RT, M. Khakimova from the UNDP Country Office and international consultant Matila M.

The purpose of this workshop was to identify the role of women and youth in the development of the value chain and the importance of gender aspects in the conservation and sustainable use of genetic resources and associated traditional knowledge.

During the event, presentations were made by both national experts and international consultant, during which the Sustainable Development Goals were noted, the role and contribution of women to the development of the value chain in accordance with the principles of ABS were defined.

The national experts of the project presented a brief overview and the results achieved by the survey among stakeholders. During the presentation, they noted the main risks, threats of excessive use of genetic resources and the consequences that have arisen to date. One of the main questions of the survey was the socio-economic well-being of local communities and in particular women employed in the collection of genetic resources and their role in this process. In general, the survey showed that the role of women in the conservation and sustainable use of genetic resources is of great importance.

The international consultant in her presentation presented the experience of advanced countries and key recommendations on the integration of gender aspects into the components of the value chain in accordance with ABS in Tajikistan, measures to expand the role of women in the sustainable use of genetic resources in the country.

The workshop participants mainly from which women received more information and knowledge about the ongoing initiatives of the project on the conservation and sustainable use of genetic resources and traditional knowledge in accordance with the Nagoya Protocol and the ABS principles, as well as the role of women in the implementation of project activities.

The UNDP / GEF project “Strengthening Human Resources, Legal Framework and Institutional Capacity for Implementing the Nagoya Protocol” aims to assist 24 countries in developing and strengthening national access and benefit-sharing structures (ABS), human resources and administrative capacity to implement the Nagoya Protocol.

In Tajikistan, the national partner of the project is the National Center for Biodiversity and Biosafety of the Committee for Environmental Protection under the Government of the Republic of Tajikistan, the purpose of which is to coordinate the implementation of goals and objectives under the UN Convention on Biological Diversity.

Share on

Publications

  • Newsletter on snow leopard conservation initiative in Tajikistan (April - June 2018)
  • Snow leopard conservation on the Pamir
  • Newsletter on snow leopard conservation initiative in Tajikistan (Jan.-Mar. 2018)
Publications archive

"Snow leopard - national treasure of Tajikistan"

The author tried to comprehensively explain a value of the snow leopard for both wildlife and people. The brochure describes biological and behavioral characteristics of a rare predator, its habitats, main factors threatening its population, international and national initiatives to preserve it, legends and real cases of snow leopard and villagers meetings in the Pamir and more. According to the author, he sought to change the image of a rare predator in the eyes of an audience that has a negative attitude towards the snow leopard, or knows very little about it, in order to understand how important it is for wildlife.

The full text you can find out contacting us via e-mail: biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

 

Newsletter on snow leopard conservation initiative in Tajikistan (April - June 2018)

Newsletter on snow leopard conservation initiative in Tajikistan (April - June 2018)

The actions implemented by the project over the past quarter have made it possible to achieve significant results in improving the technical capabilities of specially protected areas’ staff and their skills in monitoring, to prepare a rationale for initiating practical actions to restore degraded pastures and forests, to increase to some extent the knowledge of local communities about the snow leopard and cause interest in its preservation, to form communication and the basis for cross-border cooperation.

For the full version, please send a request on the e-mail: biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

Snow leopard conservation on the Pamir

Snow leopard conservation on the Pamir

The brochure contains the project summary and the results of working meetings with representatives of target partner organizations in GBAO project areas, describes decisions and recommendations received.

For the full version, please send a request on the e-mail: biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

Newsletter on snow leopard conservation initiative in Tajikistan (Jan.-Mar. 2018)

Newsletter on snow leopard conservation initiative in Tajikistan (Jan.-Mar. 2018)

You can find out the full version of the Newsletter by sending a request to biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com  

Video

Гендер и развитие цепочки добавленной стоимости на основе генетических ресурсов

Новости (Архив новостей) | 09 июл. 2019

4 июля 2019 года в Душанбе в рамках проекта ПРООН / ГЭФ «Укрепление кадровых ресурсов, правовых рамок и институционального потенциала для реализации Нагойского протокола», проведен семинара Страновым офисом ПРООН в Таджикистане в партнерстве с Национальным центром биоразнообразия и биобезопасности Комитетом по охране окружающей среды при Правительстве Республики Таджикистан был проведен семинар на тему «Гендерные аспекты и развитие цепочки добавленной стоимости на основе генетических ресурсов в соответствии с Нагойским протоколом и принципами ДГРСИВ».

В семинаре приняли участие представители министерств и ведомств, академических и научных учреждений, общественных и коммерческих организаций и других заинтересованных сторон, а также международный консультант по определению роли женщин в развитии цепочки создания стоимости на основе генетических ресурсов. Для более глубокого понимания роли женщин в сохранении и устойчивом использовании генетических ресурсов и связанных с ними традиционных знаний первоначально был проведен опрос среди всех категорий заинтересованных сторон.

С приветственными словом выступили г-н Дустов Д. из Национального центра биоразнообразия и биобезопасности КООС РТ, М. Хакимова из странового офиса ПРООН и международный консультант Матила М.

Цель этого семинара заключалась в том, чтобы определить роль женщин и молодежи в развитии цепочки создания стоимости и важность гендерных аспектов в сохранении и устойчивом использовании генетических ресурсов и связанных с ними традиционных знаний.

В ходе мероприятия выступили как национальные эксперты, так и международные консультанты, в ходе которых были отмечены Цели в области устойчивого развития, была определена роль и вклад женщин в развитие цепочки создания стоимости в соответствии с принципами ДГРСИВ.

Национальные эксперты проекта представили краткий обзор и результаты, полученные в результате опроса среди заинтересованных сторон. В ходе презентации они отметили основные риски, угрозы чрезмерного использования генетических ресурсов и последствия, которые возникли на сегодняшний день. Одним из основных вопросов исследования было социально-экономическое благополучие местных сообществ и, в частности, женщин, занятых сбором генетических ресурсов, и их роль в этом процессе. В целом, опрос показал, что роль женщин в сохранении и устойчивом использовании генетических ресурсов имеет большое значение.

Международный консультант в своей презентации представила опыт передовых стран и ключевые рекомендации по интеграции гендерных аспектов в компоненты цепочки создания стоимости в соответствии с ДГРСИВ в Таджикистане, меры по расширению роли женщин в устойчивом использовании генетических ресурсов в страна.

Участники семинара, в основном, от женщин получили больше информации и знаний о текущих инициативах проекта по сохранению и устойчивому использованию генетических ресурсов и традиционных знаний в соответствии с Нагойским протоколом и принципами ДГРСИВ, а также роли женщин в реализация проектных мероприятий.

Проект ПРООН / ГЭФ «Укрепление людских ресурсов, правовых рамок и институционального потенциала для осуществления Нагойского протокола» направлен на оказание помощи 24 странам в разработке и укреплении национальных структур доступа и совместного использования выгод (ДГРСИВ), людских ресурсов и административного потенциала для осуществления Нагойского протокола. Протокол.

В Таджикистане национальным партнером проекта является Национальный центр по биоразнообразию и биобезопасности Комитета по охране окружающей среды при Правительстве Республики Таджикистан, целью которого является координация реализации целей и задач в рамках Конвенции ООН о Биологическое разнообразие.

Поделиться

Публикации

  • Информационный бюллетень по результатам инициативы по сохранению снежного барса в Таджикистане (апрель - июль 2018 г.)
  • Сохранение снежного барса на Памире
  • Информационный бюллетень по результатам инициативы по сохранению снежного барса в Таджикистане (январь-март 2018 г.)
Архив публикаций

"Снежный барс - национальная гордость Таджикистана"

Автор брошюры, старший научный сотрудник Института гуманитарных наук Академии наук РТ кандидат исторических наук Курбон Аламшоев, постарался всесторонне осветить тему ценности снежного барса как для дикой природы, так и для людей. В брошюре рассказывается о биологических и поведенческих особенностях редкого хищника, о местах его обитания,  основных факторах, угрожающих его популяции, международных и национальных инициативах по его сохранению, приводятся легенды и реальные случаи встреч снежного барса и местных жителей на Памире и другое. По словам автора, он стремился изменить образ редкого хищника в глазах аудитории, которая негативно относится к снежному барсу или же очень мало знает о нем, для того чтобы понимать насколько  он важен для дикой природы. 

С полным текстом брошюры вы можете ознакомиться, отправив нам запрос на эл. адрес: biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

Информационный бюллетень по результатам инициативы по сохранению снежного барса в Таджикистане (апрель - июль 2018 г.)

Информационный бюллетень по результатам инициативы по сохранению снежного барса в Таджикистане (апрель - июль 2018 г.)

Действия, реализованные проектом за прошедший квартал, позволили достичь значительных результатов в улучшении технических возможностей персонала особо охраняемых территорий и их навыков в проведении мониторинга, подготовить обосновательную часть для начала практических действий по восстановлению деградированных пастбищ и лесов, повысить в определенной степени знания местных общин о  снежном барсе и вызвать интерес к вопросу о его сохранении,  сформировать коммуникацию и основу для трансграничного сотрудничества.

Для получения полной версии брошюры, пожалуйста, отправьте запрос на эл. адрес: biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

 

Сохранение снежного барса на Памире

Сохранение снежного барса на Памире

В подготовленной публикации представлено общее резюме проекта и результаты проведенных рабочих встреч с представителями целевых партнерских организаций в проектных территориях ГБАО, описаны принятые решения и полученные рекомендации. Также в публикацию вошли описания и данные по полевым поездкам.

Для получения полной версии брошюры, пожалуйста, отправьте запрос на эл. адрес: biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

Информационный бюллетень по результатам инициативы по сохранению снежного барса в Таджикистане (январь-март 2018 г.)

Информационный бюллетень по результатам инициативы по сохранению снежного барса в Таджикистане (январь-март 2018 г.)

С полной версией бюллетеня вы можете ознакомиться, отправив запрос по адресу biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

  

Видео