Improving youth knowledge on biodiversity and biosafety issues

News (News archive) | 23 ноя. 2019

November 21, 2019, Dushanbe

The key provisions of the UN Convention on Biological Diversity and its additional protocol, covering biosafety objectives - the Cartagena Protocol, were considered at the last information and training seminar with students. The event, organized as part of the UNEP / GEF initiative to support the implementation of the National Biosafety Framework of the Republic of Tajikistan, was aimed at increasing the knowledge of young people and their understanding of the value of biological diversity and its conservation in the context of the use of genetically modified organisms and its derivatives.

The workshop was attended by more than 30 students of metropolitan universities, faculties of biology, veterinary medicine, horticulture and biotechnology, as well as philology and jurisprudence.

The program included a demonstration of videos on the natural, economic and cultural values of biological diversity, as well as separately what the Cartagena Protocol is and what tasks it covers. At the same time, experts made presentations in which various aspects of biodiversity conservation, the development of modern biotechnologies, the production and use of GM crops and products, their advantages and possible risks, practical mechanisms and regulatory procedures designed to reduce the risks associated with GMOs were discussed in more detail . One of the main focuses of the event was the factor of public participation in the decision-making process in issues related to GMOs, in particular, what is the role of youth in the implementation of the tasks of the biosafety clearing-house mechanism (BCH).

Participants were shown the on-line platform of the BCH, familiarizing with its key elements, and discussing the main goals and technical capabilities for receiving and exchanging information regarding activities, production, packaging, use, etc. related to GMOs.

During the discussions on the topics mentioned, the participants shared their vision and attitude towards genetically modified organisms and possible risks, and as part of a group work, prepared their presentations using the knowledge acquired during the workshop.

Share on

Publications

  • Newsletter on snow leopard conservation initiative in Tajikistan (April - June 2018)
  • Snow leopard conservation on the Pamir
  • Newsletter on snow leopard conservation initiative in Tajikistan (Jan.-Mar. 2018)
Publications archive

"Snow leopard - national treasure of Tajikistan"

The author tried to comprehensively explain a value of the snow leopard for both wildlife and people. The brochure describes biological and behavioral characteristics of a rare predator, its habitats, main factors threatening its population, international and national initiatives to preserve it, legends and real cases of snow leopard and villagers meetings in the Pamir and more. According to the author, he sought to change the image of a rare predator in the eyes of an audience that has a negative attitude towards the snow leopard, or knows very little about it, in order to understand how important it is for wildlife.

The full text you can find out contacting us via e-mail: biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

 

Newsletter on snow leopard conservation initiative in Tajikistan (April - June 2018)

Newsletter on snow leopard conservation initiative in Tajikistan (April - June 2018)

The actions implemented by the project over the past quarter have made it possible to achieve significant results in improving the technical capabilities of specially protected areas’ staff and their skills in monitoring, to prepare a rationale for initiating practical actions to restore degraded pastures and forests, to increase to some extent the knowledge of local communities about the snow leopard and cause interest in its preservation, to form communication and the basis for cross-border cooperation.

For the full version, please send a request on the e-mail: biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

Snow leopard conservation on the Pamir

Snow leopard conservation on the Pamir

The brochure contains the project summary and the results of working meetings with representatives of target partner organizations in GBAO project areas, describes decisions and recommendations received.

For the full version, please send a request on the e-mail: biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

Newsletter on snow leopard conservation initiative in Tajikistan (Jan.-Mar. 2018)

Newsletter on snow leopard conservation initiative in Tajikistan (Jan.-Mar. 2018)

You can find out the full version of the Newsletter by sending a request to biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com  

Video

Повышение знаний молодежи в вопросах сохранения биоразнообразия и биобезопасности

Новости (Архив новостей) | 23 ноя. 2019

21 ноября 2019, г. Душанбе            

Ключевые положения Конвенции ООН о биологическом разнообразии и ее дополнительного протокола, охватывающего задачи биобезопасности - Картахенского протокола, были рассмотрены на прошедшем информационно-обучающем семинаре со студентами. Мероприятие, организованное в рамках инициативы ЮНЭП/ГЭФ по поддержке реализации Национального рамочного документа по биобезопасности Республики Таджикистан было нацелено на повышение знаний молодежи и их понимания ценности биологического разнообразия и его сохранения в контексте использования генномодифицированных организмов и его производных.

В семинаре приняло участие более 30 студентов столичных ВУЗ-ов, факультетов биологии, ветеринарии, плодоовощеводства и биотехнологий, а также филологии и юриспруденции.

 Программа семинара включила в себя демонстрацию видео роликов о природной, экономической и культурной ценностях биологического разнообразия, а также отдельно о том, что такое Картахенский протокол и какие задачи он охватывает. Вместе с тем, специалисты представили презентации, в которых более подробно рассматривались различные аспекты сохранения биоразнообразия, вопросы развития современных биотехнологий, производство и использование ГМ культур и продуктов, их преимущества и возможные риски, практические механизмы и регуляторные процедуры, призванные снизить риски, связанные с ГМО. Одним из основных акцентов семинара стал фактор общественного участия в процессе принятия решений в вопросах, связанных с ГМО, в частности, какова роль молодежи в реализации задач механизма посредничества по биобезопасности.

Участникам продемонстрировали он-лайн платформу механизма посредничества, ознакомив с ее ключевыми элементами, и обсудив основные цели и технические возможности по получению и обмену информацией относительно действий, производства, упаковки, использования   и т.п., связанным с ГМО.

В ходе дискуссий по рассмотренным темам участники поделились своим видением и отношением к генномодифицированным организмам и возможным рискам, а в рамках групповой работы подготовили свои презентации с использованием полученных в рамках семинара знаний.

     

Поделиться

Публикации

  • Информационный бюллетень по результатам инициативы по сохранению снежного барса в Таджикистане (апрель - июль 2018 г.)
  • Сохранение снежного барса на Памире
  • Информационный бюллетень по результатам инициативы по сохранению снежного барса в Таджикистане (январь-март 2018 г.)
Архив публикаций

"Снежный барс - национальная гордость Таджикистана"

Автор брошюры, старший научный сотрудник Института гуманитарных наук Академии наук РТ кандидат исторических наук Курбон Аламшоев, постарался всесторонне осветить тему ценности снежного барса как для дикой природы, так и для людей. В брошюре рассказывается о биологических и поведенческих особенностях редкого хищника, о местах его обитания,  основных факторах, угрожающих его популяции, международных и национальных инициативах по его сохранению, приводятся легенды и реальные случаи встреч снежного барса и местных жителей на Памире и другое. По словам автора, он стремился изменить образ редкого хищника в глазах аудитории, которая негативно относится к снежному барсу или же очень мало знает о нем, для того чтобы понимать насколько  он важен для дикой природы. 

С полным текстом брошюры вы можете ознакомиться, отправив нам запрос на эл. адрес: biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

Информационный бюллетень по результатам инициативы по сохранению снежного барса в Таджикистане (апрель - июль 2018 г.)

Информационный бюллетень по результатам инициативы по сохранению снежного барса в Таджикистане (апрель - июль 2018 г.)

Действия, реализованные проектом за прошедший квартал, позволили достичь значительных результатов в улучшении технических возможностей персонала особо охраняемых территорий и их навыков в проведении мониторинга, подготовить обосновательную часть для начала практических действий по восстановлению деградированных пастбищ и лесов, повысить в определенной степени знания местных общин о  снежном барсе и вызвать интерес к вопросу о его сохранении,  сформировать коммуникацию и основу для трансграничного сотрудничества.

Для получения полной версии брошюры, пожалуйста, отправьте запрос на эл. адрес: biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

 

Сохранение снежного барса на Памире

Сохранение снежного барса на Памире

В подготовленной публикации представлено общее резюме проекта и результаты проведенных рабочих встреч с представителями целевых партнерских организаций в проектных территориях ГБАО, описаны принятые решения и полученные рекомендации. Также в публикацию вошли описания и данные по полевым поездкам.

Для получения полной версии брошюры, пожалуйста, отправьте запрос на эл. адрес: biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

Информационный бюллетень по результатам инициативы по сохранению снежного барса в Таджикистане (январь-март 2018 г.)

Информационный бюллетень по результатам инициативы по сохранению снежного барса в Таджикистане (январь-март 2018 г.)

С полной версией бюллетеня вы можете ознакомиться, отправив запрос по адресу biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

  

Видео