Survey of markhor populations in Tajikistan for 2017-2018

Fauna of Tajikistan | 22 июл. 2019

The spiral-horned goat, Capra falconeri (Wagner, 1839), is a rare species of fauna of the Republic of Tajikistan. Its habitat covers the mountains of East Pakistan, North-West India, Afghanistan, Turkmenistan and southern Tajikistan. The subspecies Capra falconeri heptner is widespread in Tajikistan (Tsalkin, 1945; Sokolov, 1959).

In Tajikistan, the distribution area is limited to low mountains of the south-western part of the country. It extends a narrow strip from the Kishvariston array adjacent to the right bank of the Pyanj river, the environs of the Sarigor and Iol tracts and further moves along the eastern slope of the Khazratishokh ridge and the south-western slope of the Darvaz ridge to the Rogak village.

In recent years, a small population of markhor (up to 15 heads) has been found on the Sarsarak Ridge (Amirov, 2016). The Tajik markhor is a narrowly areal subspecies in the world fauna and lives on the territory of Tajikistan and in very small numbers in the adjacent territories of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, as well as on the Kugitang ridge on the territory of Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.

Markhor is included in the Red Book of the Republic of Tajikistan (2015, 2017) and in the International Red List of IUCN, as a species in critical condition (EN), is listed in the first CITES Convention Annex. In order to preserve this subspecies in Tajikistan, the Dashtidzhum Wildlife Sanctuary and the Dashtidzhum Reserve were created in the southern part of the Hazratishoh ridge, the south-western tip of the Darvaz ridge and in the Kishvariston mountains. The number of the markhor population protected here was about 574 heads in 2018, and 615 heads in 2019 (data of the State Specially Protected Natural Areas of the Forestry Agency of the Republic of Tajikistan). The last survey in 2017 showed that the number of markhor was 2337 heads. Due to the fact that this animal is a rare and endangered species, it is necessary to conduct an annual accounting of its number.

The Committee for Environmental Protection under the Government of the Republic of Tajikistan (CEP) in March 2018 initiated the annual large-scale registration of the number of the spiral-horned goat (markhor) in the south of the Republic of Tajikistan. The executive organization was the Association of hunters of Tajikistan, which provided the necessary funds for its implementation. Scientists and specialists from various organizations, departments, NGOs and hunting companies, as well as experts from international organizations participated in the work.

During the recording the number of markhor three groups were organized. Each group consisted of 4-5 specialists from different institutions and departments. The work was carried out on foot, the routes are not overlapped with each other.

 

The results of the survey of markhor population for 2018, by category

With the exclusion of double counting of the same herds of spiral-horned goats, the final analysis leads to the following total number: 2648 spiral-horned goats were recorded on a total area of 670,3 sq.km. The average population density was 3,95 heads per square km. This amount consists of 816 heads of young animals, 384 - year olds, 662 - females, 230 - males (2-3 years), 278 - adult males (older than 3 years) and 83 - unidentified animals. The number of adult males includes - 195 individuals of trophy age - from 8 years and older.

In 2019, carried out the internal national survey of the number of spiral-horned goat in the spring. Currently, accounting data is under the processing and upon its approval at the official level, a copy of the report will be sent to your address.

Share on

Publications

  • Newsletter on snow leopard conservation initiative in Tajikistan (April - June 2018)
  • Snow leopard conservation on the Pamir
  • Newsletter on snow leopard conservation initiative in Tajikistan (Jan.-Mar. 2018)
Publications archive

"Snow leopard - national treasure of Tajikistan"

The author tried to comprehensively explain a value of the snow leopard for both wildlife and people. The brochure describes biological and behavioral characteristics of a rare predator, its habitats, main factors threatening its population, international and national initiatives to preserve it, legends and real cases of snow leopard and villagers meetings in the Pamir and more. According to the author, he sought to change the image of a rare predator in the eyes of an audience that has a negative attitude towards the snow leopard, or knows very little about it, in order to understand how important it is for wildlife.

The full text you can find out contacting us via e-mail: biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

 

Newsletter on snow leopard conservation initiative in Tajikistan (April - June 2018)

Newsletter on snow leopard conservation initiative in Tajikistan (April - June 2018)

The actions implemented by the project over the past quarter have made it possible to achieve significant results in improving the technical capabilities of specially protected areas’ staff and their skills in monitoring, to prepare a rationale for initiating practical actions to restore degraded pastures and forests, to increase to some extent the knowledge of local communities about the snow leopard and cause interest in its preservation, to form communication and the basis for cross-border cooperation.

For the full version, please send a request on the e-mail: biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

Snow leopard conservation on the Pamir

Snow leopard conservation on the Pamir

The brochure contains the project summary and the results of working meetings with representatives of target partner organizations in GBAO project areas, describes decisions and recommendations received.

For the full version, please send a request on the e-mail: biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

Newsletter on snow leopard conservation initiative in Tajikistan (Jan.-Mar. 2018)

Newsletter on snow leopard conservation initiative in Tajikistan (Jan.-Mar. 2018)

You can find out the full version of the Newsletter by sending a request to biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com  

Video

Учет численности мархура в 2017 и 2018 годы

Фауна Таджикистана | 22 июл. 2019

Учет численности мархура в 2017 и 2018 годы

Винторогий козёл - Capra falconeri (Wagner, 1839) – редкий  вид  фауны Республики Таджикистан. Ареал его обитания охватывает  горы  Восточного Пакистана, Северо-западной Индии, Афганистана, Туркмении и южного  Таджикистана.

На территории Таджикистана распространён подвид Сapra falconeri heptneri (Цалкин,1945; Соколов, 1959). 

В Таджикистане ареал распространения ограничен невысокими горами Юго-Западной части Республики. Он простирается узкой полосой от горного массива Кишваристон, примыкающего к правобережью реки Пяндж, окрестностей урочищ Саригор, Иол и далее продвигается по восточному склону хребта Хазратишох и юго-западному склону Дарвазского хребта до кишлака Рогак.

В последние годы небольшая популяция мархуров (до 15 голов) обнаружена и на хребте Сарсарак (Амиров, 2016). Таджикский мархур является узко ареальным подвидом в мировой фауне и обитает  на территории Таджикистана и в очень маленьком количестве в сопредельных территориях Исламской Республики Афганистан, а так же на хребте Кугитанг на территории Туркменистана и Узбекистана. Мархур включен в Красную книгу Республики Таджикистан (2015, 2017) и в Международный красный список МСОП, как вид, находящийся в критическом состоянии (EN), занесен в первое приложение конвенции CITES. С целью сохранения этого подвида в Таджикистане в южной части хребта Хазратишох, юго-западной оконечности Дарвазского хребта и в горных массивах Кишваристон созданы заказник «Даштиджум» и заповедник «Даштиджум».  Поголовье  охраняемой здесь популяции мархура составляло в 2018 г. –  574 особей, в 2019 г. – 615 особей (данные ГУ ООПТ Агентства лесного хозяйства при Правительстве РТ). Последнее проведение учета численности в 2017 году показало, что численность мархура составляет - 2337 голов. Из-за того, что данное животное является редким и исчезающим видом, необходимо ежегодно проводить учет его численности.

Комитет охраны окружающей среды при Правительстве Республики Таджикистан (КООС) в марте 2018 г. стал инициатором проведения ежегодного масштабного  учета численности винторогого козла (мархура) на юге Республики Таджикистан. Исполняющей организацией выступила Ассоциация охотников Таджикистана, которая выделила необходимые средства для его проведения. В работе участвовали ученые и специалисты различных организаций, ведомств,  НПО и фирм, проводящих охоту, а так же эксперты международных организаций.

Во время проведения учета численности мархура были организованы три группы учетчиков. Каждая группа состояла из четырех-пяти специалистов из разных учреждений и ведомств. Работа проводилась пешим ходом, маршруты не пересекались  с между собой.

Итоги учета численности мархура 2018 года, по категориям

При исключении двойного учета одних и тех же стад винторогих козлов,  окончательный анализ приводит к следующему общему числу: 2648 винторогих козлов были зарегистрированы на общей площади 670,3 км2. Средняя плотность популяции составила 3,95 на кв.км. Данное количество состоит из 816 особей молодняка, 384 годовалых, 662 самки, 230 самцов (2-3лет), 278 взрослых самцов (старше 3 лет) и 83 неопределенных животных. Число взрослых самцов  трофейного возраста составило 195 особей – 8 лет и старше.

В 2019 году проведен внутренний национальный учет численности винторогого козла в весенний период. В настоящий момент данные учета находятся на обработке.

 

Поделиться

Публикации

  • Информационный бюллетень по результатам инициативы по сохранению снежного барса в Таджикистане (апрель - июль 2018 г.)
  • Сохранение снежного барса на Памире
  • Информационный бюллетень по результатам инициативы по сохранению снежного барса в Таджикистане (январь-март 2018 г.)
Архив публикаций

"Снежный барс - национальная гордость Таджикистана"

Автор брошюры, старший научный сотрудник Института гуманитарных наук Академии наук РТ кандидат исторических наук Курбон Аламшоев, постарался всесторонне осветить тему ценности снежного барса как для дикой природы, так и для людей. В брошюре рассказывается о биологических и поведенческих особенностях редкого хищника, о местах его обитания,  основных факторах, угрожающих его популяции, международных и национальных инициативах по его сохранению, приводятся легенды и реальные случаи встреч снежного барса и местных жителей на Памире и другое. По словам автора, он стремился изменить образ редкого хищника в глазах аудитории, которая негативно относится к снежному барсу или же очень мало знает о нем, для того чтобы понимать насколько  он важен для дикой природы. 

С полным текстом брошюры вы можете ознакомиться, отправив нам запрос на эл. адрес: biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

Информационный бюллетень по результатам инициативы по сохранению снежного барса в Таджикистане (апрель - июль 2018 г.)

Информационный бюллетень по результатам инициативы по сохранению снежного барса в Таджикистане (апрель - июль 2018 г.)

Действия, реализованные проектом за прошедший квартал, позволили достичь значительных результатов в улучшении технических возможностей персонала особо охраняемых территорий и их навыков в проведении мониторинга, подготовить обосновательную часть для начала практических действий по восстановлению деградированных пастбищ и лесов, повысить в определенной степени знания местных общин о  снежном барсе и вызвать интерес к вопросу о его сохранении,  сформировать коммуникацию и основу для трансграничного сотрудничества.

Для получения полной версии брошюры, пожалуйста, отправьте запрос на эл. адрес: biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

 

Сохранение снежного барса на Памире

Сохранение снежного барса на Памире

В подготовленной публикации представлено общее резюме проекта и результаты проведенных рабочих встреч с представителями целевых партнерских организаций в проектных территориях ГБАО, описаны принятые решения и полученные рекомендации. Также в публикацию вошли описания и данные по полевым поездкам.

Для получения полной версии брошюры, пожалуйста, отправьте запрос на эл. адрес: biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

Информационный бюллетень по результатам инициативы по сохранению снежного барса в Таджикистане (январь-март 2018 г.)

Информационный бюллетень по результатам инициативы по сохранению снежного барса в Таджикистане (январь-март 2018 г.)

С полной версией бюллетеня вы можете ознакомиться, отправив запрос по адресу biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

  

Видео